Happy Birthday, Dad… RIP

Today, March 8th, is my dad’s birthday.  In his honor, I would like to share with you a few of my memories of him.

He’s been gone less than a year now, but it feels like so much longer.

My father may not have always been in touch regularly and he was certainly not up for any Father-Of-The-Year Awards.  However, I choose to remember the good things about him since his passing.

My dad, James Durell Dennis, Sr., was a very intelligent, handsome, and witty man born in Atmore, Alabama as the “baby” in a family of 9 children, 6 brothers and 2 sisters.  He and my mother married very young and were a gorgeous couple.  He was a Navy man in the Vietnam War.  He worked for Weyerhaeuser, Schlitz, Stroh’s, and Pabst.  He loved music… mostly the songwriters like Neil Diamond, James Taylor, Bob Seger, and Johnny Rivers.  My dad had a great voice and loved singing and writing songs and poems.

I remember my dad singing “Listen, Do You Want To Know A Secret” by the Beatles to me.  (Probably the only Beatles song I even like to this day.)

I remember when we were living in the Navy apartments in Long Beach, California, I was only about 3 years old.  There was an older boy of about 7 years old that would always bully me.  My dad came home one evening and found me crying because the boy had hit me.  He promptly took me to the little boy’s door and told his mother to have him come out so that I could hit him back.  The mother, of course, refused… until he explained to her that if she didn’t allow me to retaliate against her son, he would personally take it out on her husband.  He explained that I’d better hit the boy hard enough that he’d never want to hit me again.  Apparently, I did because I never had any trouble with him again.  He said that from then on if anyone ever hit me, I’d better fight back as hard as I could because if I didn’t beat their ass, he’d beat mine.  He told me to not ever be the one to throw the first punch, but I’d better always throw the last to defend myself.  (I sure wish I’d held to that during my first marriage.)

I remember as a small girl having a piece of soap shaped as a flower and wanting to show him.  I woke him from his nap on the couch, and since I was always sharing candy and food with him, in his sleepiness he thought the soap was a piece of candy.  Biting into it woke him up in a hurry.

I remember him teaching me how to swim and dive.  He, my baby brother, and I loved the water.

I remember him teaching me how to play sports.  He’d throw a football with me for hours on end until I could throw a pass perfectly “hitting the numbers” from the other end of the courtyard at his apartment complex.  He had me doing a perfect hook shot even though I hated basketball.  His favorite was golf and he’d take my brother and I to play Putt Putt often.  There were times he’d call me to tell me about his golf game… each stroke of every hole of the game.  Bored, I only half listened, but I guess I should have been happy that he wanted to share it with me.

I remember him being a big beer drinker… but, don’t ever remember seeing him “drunk”.

I remember that in one apartment he lived, he had me draw on the walls of the living room.  My brother loved Sesame Street at the time so our dad had me trace pictures of Big Bird, Elmo, Bert and Ernie, and Snuffleupagus on the wall and color them in so that he’d have his very own pictures of them to see whenever we were there.  (Wonder what the next tenants thought.)

I remember my dad telling jokes incessantly that were so bad you had to laugh anyway.

He would say things like “For shits and giggles”, “Squeeze me” (instead of “excuse me”), “Kiss my go to hell”… and, countless other nonsense sayings that you came to expect only from him.

He taught me that every action has a consequence and that BEFORE you act, you should figure out what the consequence will be.  If you’re willing to face the consequences, then by all means, take the action.  He would tell me that I could do ANYTHING I wanted to do… as long as I was willing to pay whatever price came with it.

Even though my brother and I didn’t talk to him often, he always made sure that we knew he loved us and was proud of us.  And, I believe that he did and was.  I just wish he’d been around more.  I wish my brother had been able to spend more time with him.  I don’t think my brother ever knew how much our dad adored him.  And, I always felt bad about that.  My brother does things and says things so very much like our dad and I’m sure he doesn’t even realize it.  But, I do. So, I guess our father will continue to live on in him.

Yes, there are memories that are not so fond… but, I choose to let those go.  I choose to forgive those… for me.

So, Dad… if you’re seeing this… I love you.  I miss your voice… your laugh… your wisdom… and, even your dumb-ass jokes.  😀

About harleysmusings

"Everything happens for a reason. No accidents. No coincidences. It all has a purpose." "Don't let past pain keep you from future happiness." "Every single moment of our lives, we are exactly where we are meant to be." I have 3 beautiful children: girl, Kristan, boys, David and Zachary; and, two grandchildren, Damien and Lucas. I am blessed. My family and I enjoy getting together to play games, jam, do karaoke, and just general b/s. My entire family is awesome!!! I love them deeply and we have a great time together. I have very dear friends who have become my second family. I love to laugh... but, more importantly, I love to make others smile and laugh. I have a big heart that sometimes gets used against me. But, don't ever mistake my kindness or compassion for weakness. I am a survivor... and, am learning to be a fighter (when necessary) and stand up for myself. I don't take kindly to being lied to and have an extremely low tolerance to bullsh*t. I can be quiet and shy or fun, loud, and outgoing; intelligent... with blonde moments; serious or silly; very much a LADY with more than enough naughtiness to mix things up. I try to always be respectful and thoughtful and expect the same in return. My biggest pet peeves are selfishness and dishonesty. The most impressive thing I notice about anyone is when they're just being "themselves". I am open and honest and very much appreciate it reciprocated.

8 responses »

  1. Tara (Dennis) Straka

    Remembering Uncle James through your eyes, brings back so many fond memories that I have of him. I did not see him often through out the years but when I did, I recall that his charm, karisma and warmth always made me feel special. Not to mention that he gave great hugs! They were healing and made you feel safe! Yes, the jokes were bad, but they made you laugh anyway because they were so corny and he was so cute!

    I know today is a tough day for both you and Jimmie. I’ve made it a tradition to light a candle on my Dad’s birthday and make a toast. Trust me when I say that it gets easier with time.

    Love your little cuz,

    Tara

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, babe. He definitely had a soft spot for you and your brothers and sisters. But, now we can only imagine what kind of trouble our dads are stirring up being together again. 😉

      Love you!

      Reply
  2. I’m sorry for you loss. Sounds like though he had his faults, he still tried to be the best dad he could be for you. That counts for something.

    Reply
  3. jenniferrkunz

    I shared this post on my FB status – you’ll see why when you go there.

    Reply
  4. jenniferrkunz

    Great post, Harley! Wonderful of you to forgive for you, I love that.

    I love “‘Squeeze me’ (instead of “excuse me”)”! I thought my family was the ony ones who did that! Though we said it more like “Ex-squeeze me”, when we were ‘squeezing’ past each other. LOL!

    A question, what mean you by this?: “(Probably the only Beatles song I even like to this day.)”

    Reply
    • I’m not a huge Beatles fan. lol But, I do love that song… probably because of him singing it to me so much.

      Reply
      • jenniferrkunz

        Well, it proves again that we can be friends and still have differences 😉 I can’t imagine not being a HUGE Beatles fan -though to be honest, not really of their just-before-the-breakup ones, lol.

Leave a comment