Was He Really A Famous Race Car Driver?

As I was relating the previous series of events to Scott, we became curious.  Very curious.  Was my kidnapper really a famous race car driver?  Scott, being an avid NASCAR fan, had to know.

So… we began a little research.

Why hadn’t I thought to look into this guy more on my own?  Was I just settling for thinking that he must have been lying the whole time?  Or, did I just not care?

Looking up this person online, it was hard to tell from the pictures.  Of course, what happened was almost 19 years ago… and, all the photos we found of the man we were researching were much more recent.  But…

It did look like him.

His hair wasn’t buzzed and he had a moustache 19 years ago, but… It did look like him.

We found that his marital status, etc. matched.  Hmmm….

We also discovered that the person we were researching did live in Florida during that time.  Hmmm….

Scott looked up the schedules for that weekend and the driver didn’t participate in any races during that time.  Hmmm….

We found videos of the driver and his voice did sound the same.  Hmmm….

Oh… and, he even raced IROC for a while which looked very similar to the car this man was driving that night.  (And, of course, I could have mistaken a Firebird for a Camaro.)  Hmmm…

There was other more personal information we found that coincided.  Hmmm…

There were so many coincidences.  Too many similarities.

Circumstantial?  Of course, it could be.  Could this man have been some sort of psycho fan impersonating the driver?  Sure.  Was he someone who worked for the driver and that’s how he knew some of the information he did?  Possible.

Was he really this famous race car driver?  I definitely couldn’t rule it out!

No matter who he was, what made him do an about-face so suddenly?  Did sleep clear his mind?  Did seeing his wife bring him to his senses?  Did he sober up and realize what he had done?  Did I have a lucky break?  Who knows?  Whatever it was, I was thankful it didn’t end up much worse.  (Especially with all that my family was going through that weekend.)

Was he really a famous race driver?

Hmmm….

About harleysmusings

"Everything happens for a reason. No accidents. No coincidences. It all has a purpose." "Don't let past pain keep you from future happiness." "Every single moment of our lives, we are exactly where we are meant to be." I have 3 beautiful children: girl, Kristan, boys, David and Zachary; and, two grandchildren, Damien and Lucas. I am blessed. My family and I enjoy getting together to play games, jam, do karaoke, and just general b/s. My entire family is awesome!!! I love them deeply and we have a great time together. I have very dear friends who have become my second family. I love to laugh... but, more importantly, I love to make others smile and laugh. I have a big heart that sometimes gets used against me. But, don't ever mistake my kindness or compassion for weakness. I am a survivor... and, am learning to be a fighter (when necessary) and stand up for myself. I don't take kindly to being lied to and have an extremely low tolerance to bullsh*t. I can be quiet and shy or fun, loud, and outgoing; intelligent... with blonde moments; serious or silly; very much a LADY with more than enough naughtiness to mix things up. I try to always be respectful and thoughtful and expect the same in return. My biggest pet peeves are selfishness and dishonesty. The most impressive thing I notice about anyone is when they're just being "themselves". I am open and honest and very much appreciate it reciprocated.

10 responses »

  1. Well now I’m curious, dammit!!

    Reply
  2. Such a mystery.

    Reply

Leave a comment